Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the Condé-Charlotte...
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the Condé-Charlotte Museum is the Gateway to Mobile’s History. It is owned, preserved and operated by the National Society of the Colonial Dames.
The museum house, built of brick by the French, pre-dates its neighbor Fort Conde, which was constructed in the 1720s. It served originally as a magazine. When it became American, the old magazine was modified to become Mobile's first courthouse and jail. A portion of jail floor and jail doors can still be seen in the house. In 1854, the building was purchased by Jonathan Kirkbride and converted into a residence.
The Conde-Charlotte Museum is now furnished with period antiques reflecting Mobile’s history under five flags: French, English, Spanish, American and Confederate.
The variety and authenticity of the furnishings make the house a charming museum, with two confederate parlors, an American Federal dining room, a British Commandant’s room, a French sitting room and bedroom, and two American bedrooms. A walled Spanish garden of the late 18th century design and a kitchen filled with late 19th and early 20th century equipment complement the house.