Beginning January 1, 2015, the Hall of Fame Museum and Grounds is...
Beginning January 1, 2015, the Hall of Fame Museum and Grounds is completely closed to the public for renovations. PLEASE JOIN US MAY 20, 2015 TO VISIT OUR BRAND NEW STATE OF THE ART MUSEUM!
Built in 1880 by the architectural firm, McKim, Mead & White, the Museum galleries chronicle the rich history of tennis through interactive exhibits, dynamic videos and popular memorabilia from historic champions and the superstars of today. Dramatically set in the original club rooms of the Casino, visitors of all ages delight in Stanford White's architectural detail as well as the state-of-the-art gallery experience. In the Woolard Family Enshrinement Gallery plaques commemorate the great players, coaches, administrators and writers that have been inducted into the International Tennis Hall of Fame. There are 235 Hall of Famers, representing 20 countries. In 1986, the International Tennis Federation (ITF), the governing body of tennis, officially recognized the International Tennis Hall of Fame & Museum as the sport's official Hall of Fame. The property today is now 6 acres and consists of the Newport Casino, 13 grass courts, 1 clay court, an indoor tennis facility, the Court Tennis facility, a grandstand and a historic 297-seat theatre. In July, the venue annually hosts the Hall of Fame Tennis Championships for the Van Alen Cup, the only ATP professional grass court tournament in the Americas. These are the only professional grass courts that are open to the public for play.