Only two exhibition were open at the time of our visit. There is not English description of the items on display. Beautiful building but it has no direction signs. Display piece are some what repetitive.
The Museum has moved from this location, it can now be found on Calea Armatei Române 1/A, Oradea. This building can still be visited, but only a small part of it. Anyway, the gardens surrounding it are splendid, especially in spring-summer, when the flowers bloom. There are a few magnolia trees in the gardens which spread a wonderful smell :)
It was founded in 1762 by the Baron Bishop Adam Patačić, as bishopric palace of the Roman Catholic Diocese of Magnovaradimum. Illustrious Viennese architect Franz Anton Hillebrandt, designer of many Austrian palaces and one of Europe's 18th century best, designed the palace and planned the city's posh side as Baroque quarter, while engineer A.J. Neumann was in charge of the...